Baltic MPs condemn Russia’s invasion into Ukraine

Estonian ParliamentFoto: Ilmar Saabas

Marko Mihkelson, Ojars Eriks Kalnins, and Benediktas Juodka, respectively the Chairmen of the Foreign Affairs Committees of Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania, today condemned on the strongest terms the Russian Federation invasion into Ukrainian territory, and expressed their solidarity and support to Ukraine and its people.

"Focused actions of the Russian Federation violating bilateral and multilateral agreements on Ukraine’s sovereignty and territorial integrity, and its direct support of terrorist military units threaten not only Ukraine’s or its neighbours’ security, but also security of the EU and NATO member states, and stability in Europe," they said in a statement.

"We call on the European Council on 30 August 2014 and NATO Summit on 4–5 September 2014 to demand the immediate withdrawal of armed forces of the Russian Federation from the territory of Ukraine and to decide on further actions, including enhancing military cooperation with Ukraine and imposing broader economic and political sanctions on the Russian Federation," the statement added.